Skip to main content

Pianist Laura Leon

Changing the Pace: Tangos, Samba and Pavanne

Steven Rosenhaus, Eric Ewazen, Astor Piazzolla, and Morton Gould--Seven Fantastic Pieces for Solo Piano Transformed!

cover of Changing the Pace: Tangos, Samba and Pavanne

view a larger image

released 2003   Musical Tapestries Inc.

Music for a G'day/Musical Tapestries Inc.

buy now


A special collection of piano pieces, Changing the Pace features Steven Rosenhaus' Samba, Laura's Dream and Two True Blues with Grammy award-winning alto saxophonist Richie Cannata. Both were originally composed by Rosenhaus for the 2001 live performance multimedia work PRO.JECT at the Rosenthal-Jacobson Studio; Eric Ewazen's Gumbo Limbo from his A Suite from the Cloud Forest; Astor Piazzolla's subtle Tango Ultimo and Morton Gould's toe-tapping, full-of-swing Pavanne--which he arranged for solo piano and has been adored since it first came on the music scene in 1938, the second movement of his American Symphonette No. 2.

Imani Mosley's review of Laura's performance of Rosenhaus' Samba and Two True Blues at Queens College's Lefrak Concert Hall stated: "The piece was delightfully blissful, the first, light and airy and the second, soft and jazzy. It sounded perfect for a concert hall and yet it had the air of belonging somewhere else as well, like somewhere in the Village."

Laura Leon, piano with Richie Cannata, saxophone; Nicki Parrott, bass; Adam Snyder, drums; Cafe, percussion.